Ohio Drivers Education

Ohio drivers ed is an important rite of passage for many teenagers in the state. Drivers education is a course intended to instruct new drivers on traffic laws, as well as techniques for becoming safe drivers. These driving lessons also serve to prepare a new driver to take the driving exam to become a licensed driver. This driving course is a legal requirement for minors between the ages of 15 and 18 to receive a drivers license in Ohio. However, adults can also take advantage of drivers education to either better prepare themselves for their driving tests, or because they are legally required to complete this course. The state of Ohio has different types of courses and course requirements for teenagers and adults. More information on driver’s ed can be found in the sections below, including details on how to enroll in a driver’s education program.

What is drivers education in Ohio?

Drivers education is essentially a training program for first-time drivers in Ohio. This first time driving school is largely associated with teenagers, mainly because they are required to complete this course if they wish to drive before they are 18 years of age. These driving classes must legally consist of 24 hours of classroom instruction. A driver safety course segment is a necessary part of this classroom instruction, and includes lessons on the dangers of driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, as well as the dangers of driving while texting. Taking an online driving course is an available option for new drivers, along with attending a more traditional physical driving school. Learn more about new driver requirements in our informative guide.

In addition to the driving safety course offered in the classroom, students are required to complete eight hours of practical driver training referred to as behind-the-wheel education. This portion of drivers ed requires a student to actually operate a motor vehicle under the supervision of a certified instructor. Teen driving school also includes an out-of-classroom course requirement that is almost like the homework component of driving school. Teenagers are required to complete 50 hours of practice driving under the supervision of a parent or guardian, and 10 of those hours must be completed at night. In order to meet this teen driving course requirement, a teenager must obtain a Temporary Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), which is Ohio’s equivalent of a learners permit.

Adult driver training has different course requirements than the driving classes intended for teenagers. Adults can take a four-hour driving course online or in-person, along with four hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor, or 24 hours of training with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older. Ohio drivers 60 years of age or older can also take a driving course especially designed for them that updates them on newer traffic laws and safety practices.

Why do people use drivers education in Ohio?

Drivers education is a requirement for teenagers between the ages of 15 and 18 years old to obtain drivers licenses, and this is the primary reason why many Ohioans enroll in such a program. Completing a teen driving course and obtaining a license can offer a teenager more independence, while also freeing up parents from having to transport their children to work, school or extracurricular activities. A driver training course for adults called an “abbreviated adult program” may also be required of some new drivers in Ohio. If you have failed the drivers license test on your first attempt, you must take this course in order to be granted a second opportunity at obtaining your drivers license. Older drivers may take specialized driving lessons, known as “mature driver programs,” in order to qualify for insurance discounts upon successfully completing these lessons. This discount only applies to Ohio drivers who are 60 years of age or older.

How do I enroll in drivers education in Ohio?

Drivers ed classes are not administered directly through the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Rather, these driving classes are offered through independent, third-party schools that the BMV licenses to teach these courses. A database of first time driving school locations is available through the BMV’s website, which is organized by county, as well as the type of driving instruction offered. Make sure to select the correct type of course you need when researching these driving schools. You can also research online driving school options by conducting an internet search and verifying that the online school is BMV-certified. Remember that if you are enrolling in an online course for teenagers, you will still be required to complete the behind-the-wheel training at a physical driving school.

Most driver training schools charge a fee to attend classes, and these fees can vary from one school to the next. Read more about BMV-related fees in our detailed guide. You may be attracted to a school that offers competitive fees, but such a school’s classes may not meet the Ohio legal requirements for driver’s education. Make sure to enroll in a school that offers all the legally necessary education and training for obtaining your drivers license. Enrolling in a driving course online will require that you provide the school with credit card information. If you are uncomfortable providing this information, you can elect to enroll in a physical school that may accept other forms of payment.

Review more information about driver-related schools and courses in our informative guide.