OVI Convictions in Ohio

Ohio drunk driving information is essential for drivers to understand before getting behind the wheel. In Ohio, drunk driving charges are referred to as “Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence of Alcohol and/or Drugs” (OVI). OVI, also commonly referred to as driving under the influence (DUI), is a very serious offense that comes with significant consequences. All drivers should know as much DUI information as possible in order to avoid any detrimental circumstances. Knowing the DUI laws, including first offense penalties and what to do after receiving a charge, can help to deter drivers from ever being put in such a situation. OVI consequences are severe, and they may include a drivers license suspension and fines. Find answers to the question “Is DUI a criminal offense in OH?” along with other important information in the following sections.

Is DUI a felony in Ohio?

While DUI consequences are quite severe, a DUI is not considered a felony offense until a driver receives four DUI convictions within a six-year period. For a first-offense OVI in Ohio, drivers will be faced with misdemeanor charges. However, being charged with DUI for the first time, while considered a misdemeanor, will still require motorists to face consequences. OVI laws require first-time offenses to be treated seriously in order to discourage subsequent offenses. For more OH OVI information, including specific penalties for DUI convictions, you can download our comprehensive guide today.

OVI Consequences in Ohio

DUI charges in Ohio can have extensive consequences, including imprisonment. Drivers charged with an OVI who are cited with a blood alcohol content above 0.08 percent may face imprisonment and license suspension. In addition, drunk driving fines may be imposed on drivers who are convicted of OVI charges. Drivers may be required to pay an OH OVI penalty fine, which can range from $375 to $10,500. However, an OVI comes with other associated costs. Fines for drunk driving not only include penalty fines, but they may also come in the form of court fees, attorney fees, license reinstatement fees and more. Motorists must pay a drivers license reinstatement fee in order to reinstate a driver license. This fee to reinstate a drivers license, which costs $475, must be paid after the license suspension period is completed. Along with the fee, drivers will have to submit proof of vehicle insurance.

Another OVI consequence to consider includes suspension of the driver’s license. Most drivers charged with a DUI in OH will end up receiving a license suspension that will last as long as the court determines. In fact, if a driver is pulled over for DUI offenses and the officer confirms the suspicion, then the officer can take the license immediately, and the suspension will begin. License suspension DUI penalties can last from six months up to a lifelong driver license revocation, depending on the driver’s DUI history and other circumstances. In addition to fines and suspensions, an Ohio DUI violation can result in drivers license points being added to a driver’s record. An OVI conviction will result in six points being added to a driver’s record. Motorists who are convicted of OVI with a blood alcohol content of .17 or higher will face more severe consequences, as will motorists who refuse to take an OVI chemical test.

What to Do When Charged With DUI in Ohio

DUI penalties in Ohio can be extremely detrimental to a driver, especially when operating a motor vehicle is essential to a driver’s daily livelihood. Depending on the circumstances of the OVI charges, a driver may need to hire a lawyer. Hiring a lawyer to handle DUI charges may help a driver’s chances of avoiding a DUI conviction. A DUI attorney can assist with fighting the DUI violation in court before a judge, as well as help prevent the DUI charges from being added to a driver’s record. However, in many cases a driver may choose to accept the DUI consequences and be done with the situation completely. Drivers will have the option to plead guilty to the drunk driving charges at the first court hearing and proceed from there. For more OH DUI information, you can download our comprehensive guide today.